Top Header Banner


UAE and Saudi, Kuwait, Qatar, Jordan, Bahrain.. will mark Friday as the first day of Eid Al Fitr

  • Read 63 times
UAE and Saudi, Kuwait, Qatar, Jordan, Bahrain, Libya, Turkey, the Philippines, the Balkans, China and Malaysia will mark Friday as the  first day of Eid Al Fitr.

Eid Al Fitr prayer will be held in Dubai at 6am, the Dubai Media Office has announced. The media office tweet quoted the Islamic Affairs and Charitable Activities Department.

Earlier, Sultan bin Saeed Al Badi, Minister of Justice, issued a decision to set up a moon-sighting committee chaired by him to confirm the start of the month of Shawwal, and marking the end of Ramadan. 

The committee will hold a meeting after Maghreb prayer on Thursday, 29th of Ramadan, corresponding to July 16, at the Judiciary Department in Abu Dhabi.

The decision called on all the Sharia courts across the country to look out for the crescent moon and inform the committee.

The Supreme Judiciary Council of Saudi Arabia will also meet on Thursday, July 16, to witness the Shawwal crescent.

Muslims in the Middle East, Europe and the US will be anxiously waiting for the announcement of Eid Al Fitr as majority in Western countries follow Saudi Arabia’s Islamic Hijri calendar.


More in this category: « Dubai Police seized four tonnes of fireworks during Ramadan Rulers send condolences to family of fallen Emirati serviceman »