World cup 2015: Countdown has begun for knock out rounds

  • Published in Cricket
  • Read 181 times
World cup 2015: Countdown has begun for knock out rounds
Sydney: As the league matches are over and the teams are confirmed to play in the quarter finals, here is the clear picture which team will battle it out against whom.

India finished on top of Pool B, followed by South Africa (second), Pakistan (third) and West Indies (fourth).

In Pool A, New Zealand claimed top spot, followed by Australia, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

First quarter-final: South Africa vs Sri Lanka on March 18, at Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Second quarter-final: Bangladesh vs India on March 19, at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Third quarter-final: Australia vs Pakistan on March 20, at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Fourth quarter-final: New Zealand vs West Indies on March 21, at Westpac Stadium, Wellington

First semi-final will be played between the winners of New Zealand-West Indies and Sri Lanka-South Africa matches on March 24 at Eden Park, Auckland, while the winners of Australia-Pakistan and Bangladesh-India matches will play the second semi-final two days later at Sydney Cricket Ground.

The big final will be played in Melbourne on March 29.

The tournament organisers have scheduled a reserve day for each of these seven knock-out matches. If a quarter-final or a semi-final match is tied, abandoned or if it is a no-result, the team that finished higher in the pool stage will progress.

Related items

  • No big releases in Sandalwood due to World Cup
  • Love is... cheering for your champ!
  • India ready to defend World Cup: Tendulkar
  • India into world cup semi final: Airlines hike fares for Australia
More in this category: « World cup 2015: Pakistan registers 7 wicket win over Ireland, to face Australia in quarters South Africa will not choke against Sri Lanka in quarters: AB de Villiers »
back to top